Happy Mistakes

“Live in the field of possibilities.”

I have a number of canvases I have worked on and left and keep going back and looking at them and with this one I finally decided that I really didn’t like it and it was time to recycle the hot mess it had become by covering it up with Venetian plaster. I should have taken a picture of it first but I really like the transformation.

The original canvas had a couple of paper circles that still showed through the plaster so I made them into some colourful abstract flowers instead. To give the canvas lots of texture I used a stamp when the venetian plaster was still wet.

Be Kind

Be Kind

The blue paint I thought was acrylic and I was adding water to it and trying to dab it off in places and then realized that actually I had mixed in a tube of oil paint with my acrylics and that is what it was, but in the end I really like the contrast and how it went onto the canvas.  So it was a happy mistake as often art turns out to be.

The quote BE KIND I had painted onto the original canvas and I decided that I wanted to keep it in view on the revised piece – it is a reminder to always choose to be kind.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

