Art and Soul Retreat – Portland

art 008 5x7
I was fortunate to be able to attend some workshops at the Portland Art and Soul Retreat the week of September 30. artandsoulretreat.com It was a wonderful experience and I loved all the workshops that I attended….4 all together.
art 009 5x7
My favorite was the first one with Serena Barton – Wabi Sabi Encaustics. I have her latest book and had not tried the encaustics until the workshop. I absolutely fell in love with this medium it is so organic and natural and there are so many things you can do. I have included a couple of photos of my encaustic creations – love the earthy colours and being able to add in fibres, fabric, paper, etch into the wax etc. I already love creating collages and now I can incorporate encaustics into the mix of things.art 013 5x7 I have ordered wax and I am gathering the other necessary tools and I should be creating more with wax soon.

If you ever have the opportunity to attend an art retreat, I highly recommend it as it is a great way to learn new techniques and meet other artists. I do hope to attend again next year.

Until next time
Michelle

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marsha
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 21:55:00

    very cool Michelle. You must love doing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

