Snowy January day = art day

‘There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way.’ Christopher Morley (1890 – 1957)

Living in the Pacific Northwest  we don’t get a lot of snow days but usually there are a few during January or February and today is one of those days.  Actually the snow made its first appearance on Saturday morning and now it is snowing like crazy, very pretty and I am grateful that I don’t have to travel anywhere and can just enjoy watching the flakes fall.  It won’t last long around here by the weekend there is likely to be no trace that it snowed except for big piles of dirty snow in parking lots and along the roadside.

This past week I have been doing some sketching and doodling in my art journal and just playing around with lettering for fun, finding inspiration from http://sketchbookchallenge.blogspot.com/ January theme “Doodling”.  I have also been checking out other mixed media blogs that offer weekly or monthly art challenges, I like the challenges because the theme gives you a great jumping off point to get the creative juices flowing.  I love checking out other artists interpretations too, they are all so different.  One of the sites I have joined recently is  http://collageobsessionchallenge.blogspot.com/ this weeks challenge is ‘dance’and you can do traditional collage or digital, so I am going to do both!  I love using art that I have made by scanning it and then apply it to my digital collage creations.

Seek Happiness

The picture (not on the theme) in this post is a combination of a few different collage pieces I created and then scanned and selected parts from the scanned art as layers for the digital collage.

Until next time try some doodling or sketching it’s a great way to pass the gloomy days of winter.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

