Learning Curves

“This is your LIFE, do what you LOVE and do it often.  If  you don’t like something, change it!…”

I was very fortunate  and excited to receive Photoshop Elements & Premiere 10 for my Birthday from my daughter and son-in-law. Once I got it loaded onto my computer I started to try out some of the features – but after about an hour I had become frustrated because I was just not getting the steps you had to take to get the effects they were illustrating.  So I decided it would be better to leave it and try again the next day. 

 I recently bought a book  ‘Digital Expressions – Creating Digital Art with Adobe Photoshop Elements’ by Susan Tuttle, (a self-taught artist and photographer) wanting to learn more about creating digital art, but it ended up my Photoshop Elements 3 was not going to allow me to do the projects in the book because my Elements was a bit to archaic, lacking the tools in the latest versions, but I was able to get started with my Photoshop CS3, even though it is pretty old as well.  So now I am happy to have the latest version of Elements so I should be eventually able to do all of the projects with ease or at least that is my wish :).  So I have been referring to the techniques and tools that Susan Tuttle illustrates in her book and have been applying them to my digital art  and voila I have had some success and am now feeling more comfortable with this new program and my frustration has diminished. 

We often forget. I know I do, that there is a  learning curve when you are try something new, and it can be so frustrating when you first start out, trying to figure out how to use the tools correctly to get the desired effects you are striving for, it takes a lot of patience and practice but it becomes easier as time goes by – you have to crawl before you learn to walk. 

I was excited when I completed my first collage on Elements 10 the other day, all the layers are

Open your heart, take your soul by the hand and let your spirit fly!

my own scanned art pages and then I added this great quote about living life that has become viral on the web ‘THE HOLSTEE MANIFESTO” ©2009 WRITTEN BY DAVE, MIKE & FABIAN DESIGN BY RACHAEL WWW.HOLSTEE.COM/MANIFESTO. This quote really says it all and made me take a long look at my life and how I really need to start dreaming and  living my life – be more adventuresome, be fearless and start taking action and do the things I love and dream about doing and stop over analyzing – after all we are only here for a short time and might as well make it the best it can be.  

Until next time

Take your soul by the hand and let your spirit fly.

Michelle

Leave a Reply

