Re-using Handmade Art to Create a Digital Collage

I have been experimenting further with Photoshop CS3 and digital collage over the past few weeks and I am feeling more comfortable with some of the tools.  I scanned a lot of my handmade art to use and have created a few pieces now that I am really liking.  I have done a few now incorporating a sepia vintage look and also just completed one using my scanned art. 

Only as much as I dream

In this collage I used a number of different layers which included a photo I took on vacation – the  flower.  I did a mask so that I could erase the layer and get the pink flower to show through to add a bit of colour to the sepia tones.

 
In the next photo I used only mixed media I had created and scanned, (except for the umbrella which is clip-art) to create the collage.  I really like the colours – it makes me happy. 
 
Dream – Believe

As much as I am enjoying the digital collage process and learning all these new techniques, I am getting impatient and want to be able to create with paint and glue and just get messy again.  My hand is improving and I have been challenging myself to some drawing exercises but it is a slow process getting the mobility back after surgery.  I am grateful for the creative outlet that digital collage has given me to keep me sane….lol.

 
Til next time take some time in your day to do something creative!
 
Michelle
Leave a Reply

