Discovering Creative Learning Resoures and Inspiration

It’s funny how you come across great magazines when you least expect it and they are treasures just filled with wonderful creative ideas, resources and new venues to develop your art.  One magazine in particular that I am really falling in love with is Somerset Studio it is chalked full of wonderful artists sharing their art and techniques.  These are definitely magazines that you keep on your bookshelf close at hand to refer back to off and on when you are needing a creative boost or looking for an idea.  Their website is also an interesting and informative place to check out where you will find free how-to videos, project ideas and new products and more http://somersetstudio.com/

While reading one of  the articles in the latest issue of Somerset Studio I discovered a link  for learning more about using moulding paste in collage and art pages – the link was  http://PamCarriker.com – well what an exciting find this site has been and I have  found myself returning many times this past week to continue to soak up all her fun techniques.  Pam Carriker is an amazing multi-media artist and she has done some videos on how to use your art pages again by making copies of them and then cutting, tearing, etc. different pieces of the previous art  page copy and giving it a whole new life on a new page.  Pam’s site also led me to a link to Stratmore’s Artist free on-line workshops another great find  http://www.strathmoreartist.com/vjworkshop2011.html .  I have  enjoyed watching all of Pam’s workshop videos – she is an incredible teacher and her techniques are really something I want to incorporate into my art pages and collages as I continue to learn and grow as an artist (still got those training wheels on).  I would be remiss not to mention that there are two other artists – Linda Blinn and Roz Stendahl also teaching Strathmore Artists Workshops on art pages and they are both really informative.

I have  scanned some of my pages, printed them off and have been having fun trying out Pam’s techniques while creating a totally different art page.  I am still working on my first page not quite finished…..but soon.

So if you are looking for some inspiration and to learn some more techniques for your art page do  check out the links I have shared in my post, well worth exploring.

Til next time happy creating

Michelle

Leave a Reply

