Joy of Cinnamon Coffee

I have always loved cinnamon – when I was a kid my mom let me make baking powder biscuit pin-wheels where I piled on the cinnamon mixed with sugar.  They were delicious and I have to say they didn’t last long.  Cinnamon buns are also a favorite of mine and sometimes throw a dash of it into my chili and of course there is cinnamon toast for a treat now and then. 

Recently I was reading a blog that was surveying some artists on how they start their day to get them ready to dive into their art. This one artist mentioned that she starts by preparing her coffee which she adds cinnamon too.  I thought it sounded like something I would totally enjoy so thought I would give it a try.  Well now I am totally addicted to the cinnamon flavour in my morning coffee – it gives it such an exotic taste – I love it, good thing I can buy it in bulk at Costco! 

Wonderful to know that I am doing something healthy for myself as well – I found out that it is good for you to consume this delectable spice, apparently there have been some studies done, it seems that cinnamon may lower blood glucose, triglycerides and LDL cholesterol in people with Type 2 diabetes.  So there you go a delicious flavor plus health benefits and a creative addition to that ordinary cup of morning coffee.

Til next time be creative even if it is with your coffee!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

