21 Secrets Workshop – a very fun playground

I am so excited that the 21 Secrets Workshop started on Friday.  I couldn’t wait to start exploring the various artists workshops – 21 artists created workshops that assist you with your creativity in your art journal pages and other art forms.  The first one on the list was “Three Little Words” – to begin you are instructed to go through your journals, favorite books, etc and pick out strings of three words that speak to you and just start making lists of these phrases. At first I thought I would not get that many on my list but so far I have created three pages with two rows on each page!  Some examples of my three word phrases:  embrace the funky, place of calm,

In the moment - my own emerging

learning to enjoy, my creative life, permission to create, what feels real, warmth that influences, energy of being, discover the tears, the open heart.  By doing this exercise it has created a wealth of phrases that I can use in my art pages, and they are words that speak to me and how I am feeling at a particular moment and helps to remind me that I am on a creative journey.  So far I have used six of the three word strings in three different pages I created.  What a great tool this is – I love it!

You can jump around and join in any of the workshops whenever you like which is great cause you don’t have to do them in order or be structured, just go where you are called to at the moment – so the next one I checked out was the  “Child’s Play Workshop“, it was number two on the list so I wasn’t jumping around too much yet.  Here I learned how to create my own stamps to use with paints and inks, how cool is that?   It reminded me of when I was a child and we made potato stamps, she didn’t do this but used strings, a

Everything is possible - set the course

 sticky back foam, etc.  So I had to try it out – I need to refine my designs but it worked and I used the stamp on some pages and I actually liked how it looks.  I will have to dig deep into my memory and try creating a few potato stamps just for the fun of it.  So now I am looking around my studio for things I could turn into a cool stamp. 

There is so much to learn through these workshops and the community is growing daily, it looks like it will be a really interactive one that I will enjoy getting involved with. You can post your creations on the forums for the various workshops too and see what others are creating as well.  If you are interested in joining in on all this creative fun check out the playground by visiting http://www.dirtyfootprintsworkshops.com/2008/09/21-secrets-art-journal-playground.html to register is only $59 and you get access to the site and community from April 1 to August 1…..well worth it. 

 Til next time happy creating!

Michelle

Leave a Reply

