If you want things to change, you must change.

Welcome to my first post for Creativity Blossoms After 60.  I have been wanting to blog for a while but wasn’t sure what to write about.  So after much encouragement from friends and family I have decided to start a blog about the chapter of your life called “Retirement”.  I recently retired, I use that term lightly as it will be exactly a year on April 1.  I still feel like it is recent as I am in the process of  redesigning my life from career to leisure and doing what I want.  Though sometimes I get confused about what I want to do.  Retirement kind of caught me by surprise as I was offered a lovely retirement package and decided to take the plunge into this world I wasn’t quite prepared for – basically having 2 months to prepare for it.  I have to say it has been a bit of a roller coaster ride these past months as I let go of the need to fill my days with routine and things that resemble working and even feel guilty when I don’t create a to-do list for the day.  When you have worked since you were 17 years old, all of sudden not having it to fill your days leaves you feeling like you are just floating about with no real purpose sometimes.  Or at least that is how I feel some days.  For the most part I have to say I really do not miss the 9 to 5 routine, just the social aspect – I worked with wonderful people and I do miss them.

For the first few months I struggled on what I was going to do next and decided that the best route would be to create a new business, one that I could use my many years of experience and skills as an event coordinator.  So I worked diligently on creating a website, designing a business plan, business cards, etc.  Funny though the more that I did this the more I started to feel that perhaps that wasn’t exactly following my bliss.  Perhaps I just needed to take some time to discover what I wanted to do that would bring me joy, fun and adventure.  Although I still have thoughts of  doing events of some sort, I am taking a step back and letting things percolate for a while and see how I can do this in such a way that it would include creativity, art, travel and just plain fun while perhaps encouraging others to join me in discovering the creative side of life. 

Right now I am really enjoying making wire jewellery and  learning how to paint with watercolours, experimenting with collage and I am going to start art journalling thanks to my visit with Violette of Journal Bliss.  I am finding that I have this need to create and it does bring me great amounts of joy and satisfaction.  The greatest thing is that I used to do lots of artsy things back in my younger days and then life just got so busy with working and raising my daughter that I forgot how enjoyable it was and now I am in rediscovery mode and experiencing it full force and I actually have the time to do it.  If I want I can just create all day long – how great is that?

My life has certainly changed from a year ago and so have I – I enjoy being proactive in the changes that take place now.  I feel that I am becoming more of a free spirit and the changes I have made so far seem to be leading me down a path where I can explore my creativity.  It is all part of self growth and for things to change we must change.

I invite you to share your experiences on being retired. 

Michelle

Leave a Reply

